Growing celery from kitchen scraps

Reaction score
I'm sure many of you have heard that you can grow more celery from the base of the celery you used to make dinner. A few days ago, I decided to give it a shot. I don't know why I was so skeptical or why I have never tried it before.

I set the base in a shallow cup of water and placed it on the back porch windowsill. There are already a few new leaves! I guess it's a waiting game at this point to see if becomes something I can actually plant.

Have any of you had any success? Do you have any tips?

Reaction score
I've never tried it, but I've seen posts on my social networks that say you can do this with other kitchen scraps too. I wonder if the new shoots growing aren't just really small shoots that were there to begin with that are just getting bigger? In that case, I guess it's more about making your celery as efficient as possible (by maturing baby stalks), rather than growing an entirely new plant. Let us know how it progresses!

Reaction score
I will keep everyone posted on whether or not this works.

I know some things do grow again: potatoes, sweet potatoes, onions, pineapples.... Celery just seems too finicky for this to work. Time will tell.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7B
I have read about doing this, but I haven't tried it with celery. Now that I am reading this; I will try doing it. I did try growing carrot tops but they didn't really grow, so maybe got some that had been cut off too far. From what I read, carrots produce blossoms and go to seed the second year; so growing the carrot tops is a good way to get your own carrot seeds.
I have started sweet potatoes, and they make a beautiful vine, and look great when you have several of them in a hanging basket.