Grow Non-Organic Plants and make them Organic??

Reaction score
Country
United States
Wondering if I can buy non-organic plants and then grow them organically? At what point do the chemicals cease being in the plants? I know they wouldn't be officially organic...just wondering if they might eventually become practically organic...?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Most organic plants are still sprayed with something to help them thrive. If you change out the soil and give them a few years then they might be okay. If you are worried about this then buy some seeds and grow seedlings at home.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
USDA Zone 11
Country
Mexico
I am not an expert, but my garden gut tells me it probably depends a lot on the size of the plant. If i am not sure if a plant that i purchase has been treated with pesticides, herbicides, etc. and the plant is small, I will wash it down to the bare roots, removing as much of the soil it came in as i can and replace it with some good amended organic soil that i know hasn't been messed with. Once it is in the ground or container with soil i am confident about, i will give all the leaves a good washing and presumably the new growth will be organic? or nearly organic. I have been known to do this with large plants as well, but before i remove the soil it came in, i will cut back a lot of the vegetation that it came with too allowing it to grow anew. There are some experts who will be checking in on this and i'll be interested to hear what they say. Good question!(y)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
13b
Country
Philippines