Fruit that are Easy to Grow?

Reaction score
Country
United States
I have zero experience in growing fruit beyond maybe strawberries, but I would absolutely love to have some fresh fruit right from my backyard. Does anyone know of any fruit that are fairly easy and inexpensive to grow? I have a decent amount of room in my yard with okay soil, and somewhat limited space in the garden. Any additional tips for growing fruit in general would be very appreciated as well.

JBtheExplorer

Native Gardener
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Tomatoes are one of the easiest to grow, not to say there won't be any problems, but of all the options I would say they are definitely one of the easiest.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
There are many vegetables you can grow.......tomatoes, peppers, lettuce, eggplant and the list goes on but you asked about fruit. Most citrus, but not all, are out of the question, but there are some that you could grow if you grew them in big containers that you could bring inside during your cold weather. Then there are the cold weather fruits such as apples and some pears which you could grow. You could also grow berries. It all depends on your space and growing conditions. You have good conditions for the growth of vegetables but with fruit you are limited. I am sure there are other fruits that I do not know about that will thrive in your area. You should go to local nurseries and find out what is good for your area

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
Zone 5
Country
Canada
Gooseberry, Currants, Raspberry, Ground Cherry, Concord grape vine

http://www.durgan.org/URL/?AZQUW 16 September 2011 Concord Grapes
Thirty pounds of pristine Concord grapes were picked from my one vine,and made into juice. Twelve liters of juice was made from 30 pounds of grapes. Between two and three pounds of grapes for each liter. There were only about five earwigs found in the clusters.