Country Flags


Ian

Administrator
Joined
Mar 24, 2012
Messages
1,395
Reaction score
991
Location
Manchester
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
Ad

Advertisements

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Mar 24, 2012
Messages
1,395
Reaction score
991
Location
Manchester
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
I'd also like to second the opinion that in the US, a letter abbreviation is probably much more helpful than the flag - state flags are not something we really learn much about, other than our own state. But we did have to memorize all the abbreviations. Along with the capitols, but that information's long gone!!

The state letters are next on the "to-do" list :D.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2015
Messages
3,074
Reaction score
2,458
Location
Inverness-Shire, Scotland
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Ian,

I'm a new member and although I have the United Kingdom flag the 'Union Jack' in my avatar box this is not the flag for my island as it's not part of the UK. I don't suppose there's any chance of displaying the island flag please? :)
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Mar 24, 2012
Messages
1,395
Reaction score
991
Location
Manchester
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Sheal, the plugin we're using at the moment uses ISO codes to do the country listing stuff, so as the IoM is independent of the UK it should be there - I'll drop you a message about this in just a moment :).
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 14, 2015
Messages
3,074
Reaction score
2,458
Location
Inverness-Shire, Scotland
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United Kingdom
How many pictures would you like Kevin? I have about four hundred. :)

Perhaps here isn't the best place to discuss this so I will start a thread for you in General Chat and we'll see where it leads.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 10, 2014
Messages
2,784
Reaction score
3,913
Location
central Texas
Showcase(s):
1
Country
United States
Deborahjane, I just tried placing the mouse over your flag, and I get "Australia." I wonder why it isn't working for you(n).
It's a wonderful feature--not only can we tell where a poster is from, I am learning a lot of countrys' flags. One can learn marvelous things on a good gardening forum!
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2014
Messages
555
Reaction score
449
Location
Gulf Coast MS
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Worked for me as well. You've got to leave the pointer over it for a few seconds for it to pop up though.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2015
Messages
2,036
Reaction score
1,939
Location
Emerald Victoria
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
10a
Country
Australia
Thanks everyone for the responses. I usually look at the forum on my ipad so no mouse. The penny dropped, a little late, that my finger is not a mouse so that's why it didn't work!!!! Bit embarrassing really. Of course it does work as you all said,by hovering the MOUSE over the flag.. durh. So I can do my flag studies on the PC and hopefully start to remember them.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2014
Messages
429
Reaction score
90
Location
Winnemucca, Nevada 89445
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
Is it possible to have more then one country shown at a time? I was thinking about the fact I am both a US citizen and I am half S. Korean. It would be nice to show both.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Mar 24, 2012
Messages
1,395
Reaction score
991
Location
Manchester
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
Is it possible to have more then one country shown at a time? I was thinking about the fact I am both a US citizen and I am half S. Korean. It would be nice to show both.

Unfortunately not, mainly as the country flag is more an indication of current location (to give specific advice based on climate etc...). Feel free to add that to the "about you" section on the profile page though :D:

https://www.gardening-forums.com/account/personal-details
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 7, 2014
Messages
429
Reaction score
90
Location
Winnemucca, Nevada 89445
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
LOL no need... then people will think I am a farming expert or something just because I'm half Asian. People are already under the delusion that I am good with math. LMAO
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top