JBtheExplorer

Native Gardener
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
This flower came from a Coreopsis "Mardi Gras" seed packet, likely this seeds was somehow mistakenly added with the mardi gras seeds. Its clearly not "Mardi Gras", but I can tell it is a type of Coreopsis, and I do like it since it adds a bit of variety. I would love to know what kind it is. I plan to collect the seeds and grow more next year.

DSCN6077.png

DSCN6077_2.png

Also, I'm still new to collecting seeds and would love to know how to store and prepare for Spring; Does it need a cold period to break dormancy, etc?

Reaction score
This flower came from a Coreopsis "Mardi Gras" seed packet, likely this seeds was somehow mistakenly added with the mardi gras seeds. Its clearly not "Mardi Gras", but I can tell it is a type of Coreopsis, and I do like it since it adds a bit of variety. I would love to know what kind it is. I plan to collect the seeds and grow more next year.

Also, I'm still new to collecting seeds and would love to know how to store and prepare for Spring; Does it need a cold period to break dormancy, etc?

Yes I can see how this un-named Coreopisis would very definitely stand out amongst your " Mardi Gras " :D

As there are so many Coreopsis varieties that are almost identical to the one in your photo - including a wild variety - its extremely hard to say for sure exactly which one yours is - so I'm going to hazard a guess and say that I think that it is possibly either

" Leavenworthii " - which is actually a little more orangey yellow than the one in this picture and more like the color of yours in real life

Coreopsis - Leavenworthii.jpg

or " Flying Saucers "

Coreopsis - FlyingSaucers.jpg

the only others that immediately spring to mind are " Lanceolata " or " Integrifolia ".