Composting With Worms?

Reaction score
Does anyone use worms for their compost? I'm just getting started and I remember my grandmother used worms in her compost but can't quite remember how she did this. Should I use a container such as a barrel or just fence off a small section of land for the compost heap? Also, any other advice you have for starting a compost pile would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your replies.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Does anyone use worms for their compost? I'm just getting started and I remember my grandmother used worms in her compost but can't quite remember how she did this. Should I use a container such as a barrel or just fence off a small section of land for the compost heap? Also, any other advice you have for starting a compost pile would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your replies.
In your situation I would fence of a small piece of ground. Put everything organic into you pile except meat, cheeze, cooking oils etc. Use leaves, kitchen scraps, grass cuttings old dead plants except tomatos and squash plants. Keep it moist and turn it over every 4 or 5 months. Adding sugars such as left over soft drinks or molasses will speed up the process. Adding coffee and tea grounds is also excellent. Do this and the worms will come to help.

Reaction score
I've been looking into this recently, and I was going to actually buy a 'wormery' until I found this very useful website:

http://nurturestore.co.uk/how-to-make-a-wormery

I think this looks like a great idea. I've always just used regular compost bins, and the worms tend to gather in it anyway; but this could get kids involved in learning about organic gardening, and our eco-system. It would be lots of fun to do, and I think a lot more worms would gather in this than come to the compost bins.

Reaction score