Composting woodstove ashes/straw

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey everyone,

I'm new to gardening and composting. I have a big pile of wood stove ashes and I have a bunch of straw from cleaning out my goat shed. The straw has goat manure mixed in it.

Is it ok to just mix the woodstove ash and straw in my composting bin? Will that combo compost properly?

Also can I just put woodstove ashes on my garden and till it in the soil before I plant the garden this weekend?

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United States
Good post, with good questions! We have grass clippings mixed with chicken manure, and I compost that in our compost piles. Goat manure isn't as "hot" ( nitrogen rich) as chicken manure, but still needs to be composted. The straw is just an added attraction.
We have some wood stove ashes (we are in warm Texas and don't fire up the stove often) but we do have ashes from the barbecue--a mix of mesquite wood ash and charcoal ash. We put the ashes on a part of the garden that isn't going to be planted for 3-4 months. The ashes that are still on top of the soil are tilled in shortly before planting, but by that time almost 99% are incorporated into the soil without tilling.
I wouldn't add the ashes just before planting--They will be okay to add to the compost pile.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United Kingdom
I add fresh woodash as I plant, it's alkalining action is great for deterring slugs from potatoes, and is a great source of natural potash for fruit and veg, BUT, I am very careful to add it in moderation because of that liming effect (it is half as strong as garden lime). It can very quickly raise the pH
This being the case, I do not compost it, I keep it separately in binbags awaiting planting
Furthermore, compost, before use, especially open compost heaps, are prone to becoming very weedy, if they contain the full range of nutrients, so I wouldn't help to complete the range by adding woodash.

Reaction score
Country
United States