Complete newbie here

Reaction score
Hello :)

What are the best herbs to grow for a novice like me?
Something that is hard to mess up and will get me acclimated to growing herbs in general?
Also, something that smells great as I plan to make teas and essential oils with the herbs I grow.
:) TIA.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
Poland
I think in general herbs aren't too hard to grow so just choose what you like the most and I'm sure it will grow beautifully:D . As far as I've learned from my own experience, basil, thyme, rosemary and garlic are especially easy to grow:)

Reaction score
Thanks, Claudine! Hmm..I do intend to grow some basil. I've heard great things. And maybe some garlic indoors.

Reaction score
I hear that basil is really easy to grow, I haven't done that yet. But also onions are so easy It's one of the first things I grew. But as Claudine said herbs aren't too hard to grow. I think it's the easiest thing to start with.

Reaction score
I'm a newbie at growing my own herbs. I started with the basil from seeds and they are growing pretty good. I decided to grow some indoors and outdoors to see which ones would grow better. So far, indoors is winning.

Reaction score
I am a complete novice myself, and I plan on starting a window herb garden myself. Maybe the two of us can learn together. When I worked at the Italian restaurant, my boss grew fresh basil outside, all around the restaurant. It was so fragrant and fresh, and it looked like a breeze to grow. I'm hoping it can be just as easy for me.

Reaction score
I would start with mint or anything in the menthe family. They are hard to kill, a matter of fact they can be invasive so be sure you keep them contained. The menthe family includes, mint, lemon balm, penny royal, and etc. . There are a lot of the variety the to the family I just mentioned.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United Kingdom