Complete noob here...

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
Canada
Hello,

I am a total newbie to growing things. And yet, I now have a sizeable vegetable patch in the back yard, with which I hope to achieve some degree of success... With your help, of course. Because I have no doubt whatsoever that without help, I would fail and my vegetable patch would become an experiment on how to feed bacteria, fungi and bugs with what would otherwise be awesome food for people.

With that said, here is a picture of said vegetable patch as of a few weeks ago, just after we put the seedlings in:

6fa8mh.jpg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Looking pretty good! What do you have planted there?
I would mulch those babies. Will help control wreds and will also conserve water. Straw, newspapers, bark, etc.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
Canada
Looking pretty good! What do you have planted there?
I would mulch those babies. Will help control wreds and will also conserve water. Straw, newspapers, bark, etc.
Yeah we are going to mulch, getting the stuff for it this weekend.

I have 6 kinds of hot peppers (Indian Jwala, Early Jalapeno, Orange Habanero, Chi Chein, Siberian Home Pepper, Long Cayenne), red bell peppers, 3 kinds of tomatoes (tiny ones, "Sprite" variety, yellow "Golden Peach", and big red "Czech's bush"). Then we have snow peas, yellow string beans, cucumbers, carrots, onions, broccoli, kohlrabi, watermelon, lettuce, basil, chives. I also have helper flowers (cosmos?), some fennel, dill, lavender, and I have seed for a few more herbs.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Very nice variety! BTW, I grow cosmos and they reseed every year here.

I mulched my garden with straw, that usually works pretty well. Plus it breaks down and really improves next year's soil. We don't always get enough sunny days in our short growing season here to grow really hot or sweet peppers but that does not stop me from trying. :)