Climbing plant for wall

Reaction score
Country
United States
Im a rookie When it comes to plants and gardening. My home has two stacked stone retaining walls. Each roughly 15 feet long and 10 feet high and decending to ground level. I'd like to dress these walls up and thought some sort of flowering climbing plant could be grown at the base of the walls that would spread up. I'm located in Buffalo, NY. Do you have any suggestions as to a specific kind of plant I could grow?

alp

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United Kingdom
Don't know your hardiness. But I think star jasmine or confederation jasmine is very popular in America... or clematis..

alp

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United Kingdom
A big welcome to the forum.. Hope you enjoy being here!

MaryMary

Quite Contrary
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
@alp, Buffalo, NY would be zone 6. :)

@Castlesave, Welcome to the forum! :)

You'll have to do some research, some of these are invasive, and I don't know what kind of light the area gets, but you could try a Trumpet vine. Or a perennial Sweet Pea (Lathyrus latifolius). Maybe a Virginia Creeper or Climbing Hydrangea? American Bittersweet?

Ooh, what about Coral honeysuckle, (also called trumpet honeysuckle, or scarlet honeysuckle.) (Lonicera sempervirens) That's pretty! :love:

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Hi! :)

All great suggestions but my pick would be Clematis, huge choice of flowers and sizes (some varieties grow over 10' tall). They do like sun though.

http://www.whiteflowerfarm.com/how-to-grow-clematis-vines

Do you have a good garden center (NOT big box store) near you? That would be the place to visit to see what grows best in your region.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States