Cantaloupe Melon - Leaf Burn

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United Kingdom
This is my first time growing cantaloupe melon. I've selected a variety suited to my short, cool Scottish climate. I'm growing them in a polytunnel in big tubs on a bed heated with soil cables. Anytime night time temps are below 15 degrees I put the soil warming cables on.

Spring was VERY hot here. My cantaloupe did fine.

Then the wet, cool weather came and at some point I started getting leaf burn on the leaves. First on the plants at one end, then on all of them. The leaves just went brown and crispy around the edgees and then shrivelled up completely in time.

New growth is fine, although all the big leaves have now been picked off due to being dead. Fruits are forming just fine.

The only pattern I can see is on the two days when I went in and suddenly saw this leaf burn it was when it had been sunny early in the morning and I hadn't quite got out early enough to open the polytunnel. Both times it wasn't extremely hot inside, but there was loads of condensation and steam. I'm guessing this is the cause? Tomatoes and peppers were fine.

Thoughts anyone?

Reaction score
Country
United States
This is my first time growing cantaloupe melon. I've selected a variety suited to my short, cool Scottish climate. I'm growing them in a polytunnel in big tubs on a bed heated with soil cables. Anytime night time temps are below 15 degrees I put the soil warming cables on.

Spring was VERY hot here. My cantaloupe did fine.

Then the wet, cool weather came and at some point I started getting leaf burn on the leaves. First on the plants at one end, then on all of them. The leaves just went brown and crispy around the edgees and then shrivelled up completely in time.

New growth is fine, although all the big leaves have now been picked off due to being dead. Fruits are forming just fine.