Any help on growing indoor spices bought at store?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello all,

Thanks for adding me :)

I bought some live spices at the store and thought I'd give this a shot.

Here are the spices bought;

Here is my first attempt;

I'm thinking of getting rid of the first attempt. They were started from seeds and are really quite stringy. The store bought ones look better and I think I got a chance at getting this established.

Yes I know the chances of having organic spices are pretty slim and they are probably raised "factory", I just want to get these going as they are. Any tips how to best transferring these new ones? I'm basically a complete noobe on this, so just about everything would be new to me. I am pretty good at following directions (y)

Allan,

PS: sorry if I didn't do something right on my first post here.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello all,

Thanks for adding me :)

I bought some live spices at the store and thought I'd give this a shot.

Here are the spices bought;

View attachment 53929

Here is my first attempt;
View attachment 53930

I'm thinking of getting rid of the first attempt. They were started from seeds and are really quite stringy. The store bought ones look better and I think I got a chance at getting this established.

Yes I know the chances of having organic spices are pretty slim and they are probably raised "factory", I just want to get these going as they are. Any tips how to best transferring these new ones? I'm basically a complete noobe on this, so just about everything would be new to me. I am pretty good at following directions (y)

Allan,

PS: sorry if I didn't do something right on my first post here.
No matter what they are or where they came from they will ALL be stringy, leggy because they do not have enough light. They need a lot more sunlight than they are getting.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Welcome to the forum @Allan A