1st Year Peach Tree - From Bare Root Question

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi,

i planted a bare root peach tree around the middle of April. It came out of dormancy within a week or two, and started pushing out leaves, and a few new stems. It seemed to be growing quickly and seemed very healthy. But once it got to a certain point, everything seemed to have stopped. I don't think i have seen any new growth, or just growth period in at least a month or so. Is this normal as it is now the summer, and from what i read growth is very slow until it goes dormant in fall? I also noticed some reddish spots on some of the leaves, not sure if that has something to do with it. I have attached a picture of the tree in its current state. Let me know if there is anything that i can do.

FYI i live in NJ, my fruit trees are fertilized and watered accordingly. This is my first year in growing fruit trees and a garden, and for the most part everything is going well.

Thanks in advance!

peach.jpg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
It is supposed to grow rapidly in the summer. It appears from what I can see in the picture that the tree is planted slightly too deep. I can see the graft but not the root flare. Also, it appears to be slightly chlorotic. What are you feeding with and how much.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
I purchase a lot of bare root trees and have to agree with Chuck -
Planted too deep. If the trees I purchase are going to be made into bonsai, I start them right off in soilless mix. If the are going to be ground planted, I start them in pots using Miracle Gro potting soil and do not fertilize. I wait until the roots reach the openings in the bottom of the pot before planting in the ground. Usually 1 or 2 years.