My 1st post - small garden, blank canvas...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everybody! :)

This is my first post on the forums. I am a complete newbie to gardening, but I'm never the one to shy away from a bit of hard graft so try to give most things DIY a go where I can.

Up until about a month ago, my garden was not very well looked after. It was a completely overgrown mess. I cut everything back and binned the zig-zagging path down the middle. The path was made from old bricks and was, well, in a state. I dug it up and found the path bricks to be on a 6" thick bed of concrete! Built properly, back in the day
laugh.png
Took about 15 loads of a 120 litre builders wheelbarrow to cart it all away once broken up.

Anyway, here is how it looks now:

IMG_20160509_130903624_zps6lv79mca.jpg

I was on my bike the other day and saw this front garden, I quite liked the little trees there, I think they are called conifers?

Trees_zps88iezcfi.jpg

My idea at the moment is sketched out below. The red lines (ladder looking things) represent a granite path going around the edge of the garden, while green blobs represent little conifers I am thinking to plant, just like in the image above. The idea is that once they grow to about 6 - 8 ft, I will top them off to prevent them growing taller.

New%20Plan_zpsoek06g0z.jpg
[/URL]
Views? Comments? Other ideas?
smile.png
I am all ears
hearts.gif

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
That's a nice little space! What are you planning for the middle bit?
I have some cautions about the conifers...first, you'll have a very shaded yard pretty much year "round. Second, l believe this will acidify your soil somewhat. Over time you'll be limited in other things you might want to plant. Unless you're going for a private, Japanese zen style garden look? Which would be cool.