1st Year Nectarine Tree - From Bare Root Question

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi all,

I am new to planting fruit trees. This past year i decided to get into planting fruit trees. The majority of my fruit trees are doing pretty well. This particular topic is about a bare root nectarine tree i planted about 6 weeks ago. When purchased, the buds were green, and i was very excited about its future. About two weeks after planting, you could see all the buds/shoots curling, shriveling, and later turning brown. This was happening from the top of the tree, slowly working its way down. I honestly thought the tree was dying. I performed the scratch test about 3 weeks ago and there was still green at the bottom of the tree. The very top though, had no green, and felt very dry and stiff. I decided to prune about 3 inches off the top, to hopefully help stimulate it. Eventually i did see new buds/shoots start from the bottom. Now here is the issue. The bottom third of the tree, seems to be alive and well (though its very odd how far down i am seeing growth compared to my other fruit trees). My question is, will the top also eventually come to life at any point? Should i prune more from the top? Is this tree a lost cause at this point? Please review the attached picture and let me know your thoughts.

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• IMG_20190620_191457_1920x1080.jpg
    IMG_20190620_191457_1920x1080.jpg
    350.7 KB · Views: 149

Meadowlark

No N-P-K Required
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
old zone 8b/new zone 9a
Country
United States
Six weeks ago would be early May here in East Texas...don't know where you are located...but early May we were already experiencing 90 deg day time and above 70 deg night time temps... way too high for transplanting bare root trees.