Why are all my plants dying?

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hey, I'm new to growing plants as a whole so sorry if I have some dumb questions. I've recently started trying to grow various plants on my window-sil, to little success... Varieties of aster, mint and other herbs, vegetable sprouts, cat-grass, and more have all slowly shriveled up and died in my care and I can't figure out why!

Here's an example; I got a medium potted plant from Bunnings, I think it was a Melampodium Leucanthum. Anyways, I bought it and very carefully monitored the humidity and levels of fertilizer for a week or so. After this week, the flowers started to shrivel up and dry out at the stem, eventually leading to the stems drying out and snapping off... Worried, I flushed out the soil with new water and eventually put it out of the pot and into my garden. It eventually died, and I was quite upset.

This has happened over and over again with such a wide variety of plants and I don't understand what's going wrong!
I often worry about my plants and care too much about them so I have often over-watered them, so I changed to using a spray bottle to water when they're dry. Even then, I made sure to give them a proper water when the soil was dry.
I'm sorry for this long post, I just wanted to understand what's been happening. Maybe it's the weather where I live? Maybe I have to grow these outside? I'm not sure...

The spray bottle I used broke so I've just been giving them normal amounts of water, and keeping care to give my plants the correct amount of water. I make sure the water is drained properly and flushes through the roots well. I try to make sure that the plants get the right amount of sunlight - they sit on my window-sil and get around 5 hours of sunlight each day. Every 2 weeks, I give them some fresh air outside and flush their water properly. I've run out of fertiliser, so I haven't been using that as much as I should have been...