What should I do with my asparagus?

DrMike27

Trust me...I’m a doctor.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
I cut down my asparagus and mulched it about 2 months ago during the ‘winter’ here in Phoenix, and they have sprouted extremely quick. Question is what do I do with the ones that look like trees already? Everything was grown from seed and they are now 2 years old.

1613582286153.jpeg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
I cut down my asparagus and mulched it about 2 months ago during the ‘winter’ here in Phoenix, and they have sprouted extremely quick. Question is what do I do with the ones that look like trees already? Everything was grown from seed and they are now 2 years old.

View attachment 75739
Just let them grow. They are making roots from which you will harvest.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6/7
Country
United States
As 2 year olds, my wife would have had those 2 near the corner harvested before they were half that tall. :)

That's the only part or time of our garden she is attracted to.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom