What is wrong with my roses.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi, I am a beginner and honestly, I have a hard time to keep my plants looking good. I live in south Florida. I have two roses in my front garden. They were just fine, but recently the leaves of one of them were turning yellow with a spot, but not exactly black.
I used Spectracide Immunox Multi-Purpose Fungicide Spray on both plants, and now the problem is happening on both. My husband says I have to plant cactus; they are easy. Any suggestion?

DORIS DAY FLORIBUNDA ROSE
EASY DOES IT FLORIBUNDA ROSE

Attachments

• 20180920_105643.jpg
    20180920_105643.jpg
    190.2 KB · Views: 247
  • 20180920_105659.jpg
    20180920_105659.jpg
    135.5 KB · Views: 247
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United States
You have black spot, which is common to some roses, especially Easy Does It. See the posts to Calicat https://www.gardening-forums.com/threads/help-with-shelias-perfume.15231/ for ways to prevent black spot. Being in south Florida, you probably have hot, humid weather which the fungus loves. We have the same here in Texas and I go through a fight with two of our roses every summer. So far the struggle is a draw :D.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United States
Curing or preventing black spot isn't a one-time spray. You'll need to keep spraying after each rain, and at least once a week if there is no rain. The spores will persist for a while, but you can get a handle on black spot.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
My roses had always been troubled by Black Spot. To prevent it, I've always done as suggested above. I picked off the leaves, bagged them, then took them to be burned. Due to local regulations, I'm not allowed to do this myself. As I know that the disease is fungal, and found in the ground, I've never thought this to be the ideal solution. Notice however, that I used the word "had" in my opening sentence.