Veggie frustration

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Morning everyone,
im a bit of a novice when it comes to veggies with varied success. My go to has been veggie mix soils from landscape suppliers with good and bad results. I’m about to embark on a large new are with custom built raised beds. Does anyone know where I can source the correct soil?

thankyou

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
To a point, it depends on what you want to grow. Different plants have different ideals but there's lots of overlap and close enough.

Soil can be fixed, but you need to know what you're starting with. Most areas have labs that will analyze your soil sample and give you a baseline. Amendments can be added to correct deficiencies.

In other words, fix the soil you have vs chancing new soil.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Welcome to the forums @Gramon farm .
I think you are right to be concerned about the soil conditions in your area of Western Australia, as it is generally very sandy indeed with little substance. It would, however be well worth getting your soil tested to see for sure what is needed.
There are a few things you can add to increase organic material, but it would be best to check with gardeners in your own particular area to find the necessary sources.
A local botanic garden would be a good place to start asking questions. Animal manure, well rotted is valuable, as is seaweed if you can find it. Good luck.

PS as an afterthought, mushroom compost is usually good if you can get it after it comes from the mushroom beds.

Last edited:
Reaction score
Country
Australia
G'day @Gramon farm.