Time to plant sweet potatoes?

DrMike27

Trust me...I’m a doctor.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
This is my first try at growing sweet potato slips and I’ve read conflicting advice on when to ‘harvest’ the slips. Anyone have any advice?

Attachments

• BF0F567F-EB65-466D-8425-438EC8A440E5.jpeg
    BF0F567F-EB65-466D-8425-438EC8A440E5.jpeg
    132.2 KB · Views: 161
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
This is my first try at growing sweet potato slips and I’ve read conflicting advice on when to ‘harvest’ the slips. Anyone have any advice?
ASAP It's already a tad late for 9b. They are warm/hot weather plants. Get a super sharp knife and slice off each slip with a little bit of the potato skin and meat. Just a little bit, plant and keep moist.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
Zone 5
Country
Canada
Good looking slips. Your area is ideal. I grow in 5B and the season is usually a bit too short. Leave them in the ground as long as possible, I am limited by frost probably the end of September. I cut the slip leaving a bit of the mother potato. They are great survivors and spread out considerably. Mark the seed slip so you can dig at the center of the mass in a few months. Rabbits love them so if you have some put a fence around the bed.

DrMike27

Trust me...I’m a doctor.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
Good looking slips. Your area is ideal. I grow in 5B and the season is usually a bit too short. Leave them in the ground as long as possible, I am limited by frost probably the end of September. I cut the slip leaving a bit of the mother potato. They are great survivors and spread out considerably. Mark the seed slip so you can dig at the center of the mass in a few months. Rabbits love them so if you have some put a fence around the bed.