Thinking about a drastic overhaul for the front yard

DrMike27

Trust me...I’m a doctor.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
Looking for some feedback on my front yard/weed solution.

Both my front and back yards have been absolutely ravaged by weeds this summer (Monsoon season finally produced rain for us in Phoenix). The back yard has responded well to weed pulling and burning, but the front has not (picture below is from today). I have rock on top of Casa Grande Series soil and my front yard is on a downward slope to the street.

Here is my way-too-grandiose idea to try and permanently get rid of all my weeds (at least in the front yard): I want to take all of the rock off, pull any weeds that remain, use preen all over the yard, cover the preen/yard with landscaping fabric, and then put the rock all back on top of that.

Thoughts?

1630696358020.jpeg

Reaction score
Country
United States
What you suggest is done all the time by landscape installers, so you can certainly follow that route, though usually the landscapers stick at least a few obligatory plants among the rocks...

However, as an alternative idea may I suggest a carpet of drought-tolerant low-growing shrubs and similar plants that would cover most of the ground, allowing space for far fewer weeds. Of course there will always be some weeds that may need to be removed. That is true even with the plastic underneath. Some weeds have an amazing way of growing around or even through any barrier. If you want you can choose the prettiest "weeds" by scattering native wildflower seed.

A few such plants that come to mind would be Desert Carpet Wattle (Acacia redolens), low-growing saltbushes (Atriplex spp.), Iceplants (Carpobrotus spp.). These are a few low-maintenance options, but there are many others. Maybe some taller plants too? How about an exceptional clone of your state tree: Desert Museum Palo Verde (Parkinsonia x 'Desert Museum'), which has more flowers and no thorns.