Spaghetti squash questions.

MaryMary

Quite Contrary
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
This is my first time growing spaghetti squash. I have three of them coming on three separate vines. My understanding is that I should wind up with 4-5 squash per vine, but most of the flowers seem to be male, so that presents a problem. But it is not THE problem.

This is a picture of the biggest, healthiest of the three.

0811161747#1.jpg

The bottom side of this one is green. This one is sitting on top of a brick next to the garage - not my doing, just where it wound up! :D The vine has enough "give" that I could turn it over, and let the other side get sun, but I do not know if I should. Also, I have read conflicting things about when to pluck it off the vine. Should I wait until two weeks after the whole squash has turned yellow, or wait until the whole vine is dying off?

Another of the squash is not so healthy looking. When it was healthy, I put some straw under it, to keep it off the dirt. Then it rained, and the straw got wet. This is what it looks like now:

0811161748#2.jpg

The part at the top side of the picture is still healthy and firm looking, but as you can see, the bottom side is shriveled. There is a weird growth there on the right side of it. I took it off the straw two days ago, but I believe the damage is done. The growth has a hole in it. Do you think a garden pest bit into it, and caused this? Was it caused by sitting too long on wet straw?

Should I pluck it from the vine now, and hope it tries to grow another squash?

I have always considered the first year I've grown anything as my "season of trial and error..." heck, even the second year can be considered that, but then, I've never had a resource like you guys!! :)

Amy advice welcome, and thanks in advance!

Edited to add : ANY advice welcome, not just advice from "Amy." :cautious:

Last edited:
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States