Schefflera Spots on leaves and stems

Reaction score
Country
Iran, Islamic Republic Of
Hi everyone,
My schefflera leaves are turning yellow and becoming weak and finally, dropping.

I am new to schefflera I water it two times a week. The images of the plant Is attached. What's wrong with the plant?
IMG_20160819_094754.jpg
IMG_20160819_094547.jpg
IMG_20160819_094544.jpg
IMG_20160819_094533.jpg
IMG_20160819_094731.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_20160819_094731.jpg
    IMG_20160819_094731.jpg
    99.8 KB · Views: 3,815
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Watering twice a week may be too much. Wait until the soil dries out in between watering. They're tropical plants for sure but constantly moist soil will cause yellow and dropping leaves and can eventually kill the plant.

And/or it may not be getting enough light. How much light does it get?

Welcome BTW. :)

Reaction score
Country
Watering twice a week may be too much. Wait until the soil dries out in between watering. They're tropical plants for sure but constantly moist soil will cause yellow and dropping leaves and can eventually kill the plant.

And/or it may not be getting enough light. How much light does it get?

Welcome BTW. :)
Thank you for your reply.
I try to check the soil before watering the plant. I will reduce the water. By the way, are those black spots natural?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Hi Shampoo, no not normal. Quite possibly fungus from damp conditions or maybe some sort of pest. Try wiping the leaves down with mild soapy water...can't hurt. Check for bug activity...but my #1 guess is too frequent watering.