Reinforce giant tomatoe cages.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello team, got another request for input.

my tomatoes plants are 9 feet tall, I wanna get them over the roof as high as they will go, lol.

Unfortunately I used the cheap green cages. I was trying to reinforce with bamboo and bar ties used in rubar concrete construction, and it certain helped they were falling apart before... but now I notice the bar ties are rusting, stupid. I need something very strong to hold the bamboo to the crossbars... basically doubling the verticals equidistant.

I have the idea, just starting to implement, to arrange each of 3 containers in a triangle, make sure sides align and then attach a bamboo triangle to it basically making a megatriangle between 3 plants... I'm an engineer I can't help myself, lol.

So, 1) what can I use instead of bar ties that's strong and lasting 2) what am I missing, any input or ideas appreciated.

Thanks!
16879025831484532878676956562092.jpg

Reaction score
Country
United States
Yeah true but you cant get the same kinda torque with a zip tie. You can us pliers to tighten it back a bit, but its generally designed to slip past a certain pressure and then it gets bigger so torque won't maintain as it waffles in the breeze. I think it needs to be metal, I can kinda really control the lean if it's metal. Only thing I found that can be as strong is larger gage rope, but I'm not so good at nots apparently... why rectangular 6ft tall watermelon trellis constructed with rope and bamboo is almost a trapezoid, lol.

16879078274463498899578073430217.jpg

Reaction score
Country
United States
Next year I'll science the shit out of it better... thinking soldiered copper tubing or something... maybe buy so junk ham radio tower parts, built one once that went up 66ft. Wonder if there is a record? 65ft!!!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States