Red Oak Tree dying?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello everyone,

I had two red oak trees that were planted in Jan 2022 in Texas. The leaves were good from April to August but over the past 2 months they have been turning brown and falling. My other oak tree in front yard recovered and now looks healthy. The trees have a sprinkler and are watered everyday. I don't think it is overwatering as soil seems ok and landscape is at an incline. They both receive the same amount of water daily. I have been using scott's weed and feed for the lawn every 3 months but only at recommended amount with a spreader. I have not added any other fertilizers or chemical.

I attached pictures of both the unhealthy oak tree (1-3) and healthy oak tree (4) at the front of the house for comparison. Any suggestions?

Thank you

Attachments

• 20220921_115809.jpg
    20220921_115809.jpg
    306.6 KB · Views: 12
  • 20220921_115823.jpg
    20220921_115823.jpg
    279.5 KB · Views: 13
  • 20220921_115841.jpg
    20220921_115841.jpg
    304.2 KB · Views: 16
  • 20220921_121504.jpg
    20220921_121504.jpg
    295.2 KB · Views: 13

Meadowlark

No N-P-K Required
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
old zone 8b/new zone 9a
Country
United States
I would suspect first and foremost the weed and feed fertilizer. That stuff is hell on new trees and even can harm old established trees. If that is the cause, not much you can do except absolutely do not use it anywhere the runoff could get to the roots of the new trees. If that incline flows towards the new trees as it appears, it is almost certainly the cause. It's possible that the new trees may recover some next year especially if we get our typical fall/winter monsoon like rains which will tend to wash out that poisonous fertilizer. If I had a dime for every tree that stuff has killed, I'd be a wealthy cowboy. I truly hate that product!!