Potted bay laurel (laurus nobilis) turning brown, why?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
My potted bay tree had a run-in with scale insects, which I was able to address with the forum's help.

Unfortunately, with the bugs defeated, my poor tree is now turning brown, and I don't know why. Since I am new to gardening it's probably something basic.

The tree has been inside for about 5 weeks, since I read they are only cold-tolerant down to 25F. It hasn't quite gotten that cold here yet but it does happen every year. I would hate to miss a forecast and kill my tree thanks to one cold night, so I thought bringing it in was best.

Therefore, it's only been under indoor lighting for ~5 weeks. When I noticed it turning brown ~2 weeks ago I put it in the garage, under shop lights which are much brighter than the lights inside the house... Though nowhere near even winter sunlight.

I have been watering it infrequently but for the last 2 weeks have tried to keep soil moisture in the mid-30, whereas prior to that it was in the 20-30% range.

So, am I killing it with too little light? Too much water? Too little water?

The whole plant looks like this sample of leaves. It's in bad shape.

Thanks if you can help!

1703831649362.png

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
It is usually moisture, they like it fairly damp. In a pot a good high nitrogen feed can help, those leaves are not as dark green as they can be. I don't know about America, but 25F seems very cold and I wouldn't expect it to last, I would be tempted to keep it outside and give it some protection, natural light is nearly always superior.