lemon tree problems

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Ive been growing a lemon tree for a few years now, and its been doing really well, until this winter that is when It suddenly dropped all its leaves and I was worried it was dead.

As you can see in the pictures, its branches have started to turn brown and are dying, but there is new growth that is now about an inch long that has appeared in the last few days. This new growth seems to be growing pretty fast.

I just dont know what went wrong because it was very healthy with lots of nice green leaves, then suddenly its dying. I re-potted it with some new compost and its starting to pick up again. I only watered it when the soil was dry, and I used plant food as directed, always the same dosage and brand. It is in a pot and has always been on a north-west facing window sill, so i dont think lack of sun is the issue as its a recent problem.

Could i my watering/feeding routine be the problem? is it too cold on the window sill? the room is 23c, i know this as i keep tarantulas in the same room and its a constant temperature according to the thermometers.

I'll be sad to loose this tree as ive grown it from seed from some lemons i got from the super market.

Attachments

• P1050112.JPG
    P1050112.JPG
    218 KB · Views: 274
  • P1050113.JPG
    P1050113.JPG
    111.5 KB · Views: 279
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Matt sorry to here About the Lemon Fingers crossed for you and guessing a few maybe Causes.

Loss of leaves can be caused by draughts, too low or high temperatures in winter, coupled with too much water in winter. Citrus Plants also prefer a cool winter rest. With a minimum winter night temperature of not less than 10°C.