Lawnmower

Reaction score
Country
Ireland
I have a weibang ip70 model it is very hard to start. So i brought it back tothe dealer and he said there was nothing wrong with it. He started it using easy start. And he blamed dirty petrol. I have had briggs an stratton engines most of my life and they always started no problem. Even when it does start it is spluttering and missing and i have to use the choke all the time. Surely this is not normal. Hope you can give me some advice. By the way it is only four years old.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Welcome to the forum @Sedaka Firstly, I am no mechanic! I do think however, that your dealer is right, and it is the petrol that makes the problems. ''THEY'' have done something to the petrol again recently, and I know we have to put some kind of additive to it. I think your dealer should know about this, and should have advised you accordingly. It might be an idea to keep some easy start handy, just in case.
I hope someone with more knowledge will be able to help with some more ideas.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Kinda sounds like the carb is about half clogged up. If it runs better when pulling the choke out, then it's a clogged carb.

Some have a compression release mechanism that when malfunctions, makes the engine hard to start like the battery is always half dead.

Reaction score
Country
Canada