Just moved. need help (rank beginner)

Reaction score
My family recently moved to a new house. I am an artist so, I work from home. I figure it would be a great time to fix up the backyard. However, I am very new to this so, would like/need some help with the design.There is one photo missing (I do not know why it was not imported to my PC) It is a long row similar to the one behind the garage that is about 3x as long running all the way to the cobble stone looking area.

So, any input? I am open to anything. My family would like fruit trees in the large grass area maybe 3-5 depending on type. Berry bushes somewhere and perennials since they may be cheaper in the long run.

I live in southern California zone 10.

If any more info is needed I am happy to provide it.

DSCF3656.JPGDSCF3664.JPGDSCF3667.JPGDSCF3668.JPGDSCF3665.JPGDSCF3666.JPGDSCF3658.JPGDSCF3659.JPGDSCF3661.JPGDSCF3662.JPG

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
Hello and welcome aboard lucas! :)

For long gardens, I always think it looks nice when the lawn is broken up by introducing more shape - for example, using linked circles like this:

circles_1.jpg

You could plant fruit trees and bushes in the gaps at the side, it would look lovely!

lee

Reaction score
I agree the linked circles. They look excellent. I want to do something similar in my garden, but it's a little more square than I would like.

Pat

Reaction score
Country
United States
Are you looking to plant verggies or flowers? What would you like to see in your yard are a few of the first questions you want to answer. Do you want more shade, some place to sit? It can be a lovely place to rest.

Reaction score
Those circles look really nice.