Is this branch dieback on my Japanese Maple?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi all,

I bought a Japanese Maple earlier this year (early summer) and am experiencing some sort of a problem, possibly some form of dieback. I am not sure what the age of the tree is, but I do know it is in a 25 gallon pot and cost about $330 from Home Depot.

I still have not planted this tree yet because I had read that you should wait until fall to plant these trees in my area due to high summer heat. I live in Alexandria, VA (hardiness zone 7b).

The problem I'm having is that the branches (and subsequently, the leaves) seem to be dying from the tips of the branches inward. The affected branches also may be turning a darker color, but since this is my first time owning this tree I'm not sure if this is a normal branch color or if this is also part of the problem. The color they are turning is maybe purple or brown, I am a bit colorblind but that's what my wife says.

There are also some signs of leaf scorch but I'm not sure if this is related, and if it is due to underwatering or sun/heat exposure. I have maybe not been as judicious as I should have been with a watering schedule, but I had also read that these trees are susceptible to root damage from over-watering and to therefore err on the side of underwatering -- I have since read contradictory information saying that they should be well-watered, so not sure which source to believe.