Is it too late to start seeds?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello everyone! I an did intro earlier this morning. I'm having trouble finding something that fits my "situation". Please keep in mind I'm new to gardening. I have only grown sunflowers from seeds sown directly into the ground and they did wonderful. This year, i decided to grow our flowers for the front yard from seed. I didn't realize the process should start indoors around January or February. I purchased seeds, seed starting mix, pete moss trays and even a small greenhouse. I did not sow directly into the ground. I put in the trays and put in my greenhouse. I understand they wont be ready for the ground for weeks, but i am more investing in next year. Do you think my plants will be too young by the time winter comes and not survive and come back next year? I am Maryland zone 7 and doing creeping thyme, lavender, daisies and candy tuft!

Last edited:
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
4b
Country
Canada
How severe are your winters? It get's really bad here so some will make it through a winter and some won't. Covering the young perennials in mulch after they have died back right before winter might be all they need.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Thanks! And Maryland has some of the most unpredictable winters. One year we were wearing shorts and flips flops at Christmas, the next we had a blizzard! I will be sure to lay mulch down this year. Thank you!

alp

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United Kingdom