How to Elminate Bamboo

Reaction score
Country
United States
I need help. Live in Pa. My son purchased a house which the back 1/3 of his property was/is a bamboo patch. I want to turn it into grass. The property has a decent slope. I am a former landscaper but I am at a total loss for this situation.‘I’ve been cutting the new shoots as they begin to rise. How do I eliminate it and how do I plant a lawn on top of it?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Keir Hardy
Country
United Kingdom
Hi and welcome.
A lot depends on the variety of bamboo.
They can send out horizontal rhizomes that can come up yards from the parent plant.
If you want to completely eliminate it, you'll probably need to rotavate most of the garden and remove every scrap of root, or it will likely regrow.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Thanks for the info. It does send horizontal shoots that come from the web of roots. It’s too large of an area to dig out and I’m not certain a Bobcat would work.

Meadowlark

No N-P-K Required
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
old zone 8b/new zone 9a
Country
United States
There is an alternative to using glyphosate and that's frequent mowing. Over time the bamboo will give it up. In my rural area there is a lot of bamboo growing wild and if left undisturbed it would spread and invade, but mowing is an effective control tool. I have producing hay fields right next to big stands of bamboo that is controlled with nothing but mowing.

Its controversial but studies have associated glyphosate with non-Hodgkin lymphoma in humans. Personally, I would not apply/handle undiluted glyphosate, nor would I recommend anyone do that. The choice, of course, is up to you.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6B
Country
United States