Help with Watermelons

Reaction score
Country
United States
This is my first time growing watermelon.. and I a very amateur gardener. I am not in a ideal watermelon growing are being on the southern Oregon coast but our temperatures this year have been helpful (I Think) in a lot of daytime temps from the low 80's to low 90's .. Nights getting to the mid 60's to mid 70's.
We have melons that start andlok like they are doing very good.. and then some of them stop growing. this happens to some a walnut size but to soe a baseball size..

Any help would be appreciated.. My wife loves watermelon.. LOL

In my picture the watermelons at the upper left and far right are still going strong so far.. the to at the bottom left have stopped growing. They were the first to grow and were the biggest for awhile.. all watermelons are on different vines. out of the picture is the 5th melon on a different plant and is the size of the 2 that have stopped growin,, but seems to be still doing good. Thank You for any help..
20230816_093800[1].jpg

Reaction score
Country
United States
Your garden looks so sweet and thanks for the post. The amount of water that the plants get is key when it comes to melon growth. Always check the soil before watering and when the top few inches dry, water well. Never water your plants without first using your finger to check the soil. If you have any questions about the moisture take your hand and dig down a few inches to make sure the moisture is deep. Only having one melon per one plant will grow the biggest melons.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
The leaves look rather small and thin. It should be bushy and the vines fighting each other over light. Watermelons are greedy feeders. I want to say you need a lot more nitrogen to get it to grow bushy which will help the size of the melon.

I use no less than 12 cups of organic fertilizer for about 4-5 vines. A higher nitrogen fertilizer is best.

MOD

Meadowlark

No N-P-K Required