Help seedlings wilted

Reaction score
Country
United States
So i am new to planting vegables and have started with french dressing radishes and pak choi. Everything was going fine the seeds germinated fine and grew about 2 inches tall then just wilted. The culprit i believe is the litom led grow light that i put on them. They seemed to be sickly before bit once the light was on them it was all over. I started them in jiffy seed starting mix and watered them 3 times a day with a spray bottle.

Last edited:
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
USDA 10a - Sunset 22
Country
United States
Germination can be a little tricky. You basically have soil, light, temperature and moisture as cultural conditions to deal with, you only mention misting and a reference to led lights I don't quite understand. Keep in mind not all seeds require the same cultural conditions to germinate. Some need light, somewhat dark, some like mild, some like cooler.

Your wilting almost sounds like leggy i.e. not enough light or not enough light and then you hit them with light that was too strong or hot. Generally you want plenty of hours of balanced light i.e. not hot and not so bright you need sunglasses and not dim. A fairly even temperature for a large portion of the day. Lots of flowers seeds (what I mostly grow) like about 654-75 degrees or so. Watering, I don't know how much moisture you loosing, but try to keep the soil moist, but not wet, sounds like you’re doing that. Careful not to beat up the seedlings when applying the moisture. Did you up the moisture once they germinated, maybe too much water? For soil, I tried what you’re using but I found it to be hydrophobic at times and expensive. A high quality potting mix with the chunks and lumps taken out works very well.

Also what did you start them in? How long had they been growing? How long did it take them to germinate, how long after germination till they went south? A picture or further describe would help.