Help planning around a pond

Reaction score
Hello, I'm new to gardening and was asked to help someone plan the landscaping around their house. One thing that I've been working on is all of the ins-and-outs of putting in a pond/rock garden. I want some variety and nothing too tall. Could you guys please help me? I'm a complete novice and struggling with this a bit!

Thanks kindly,
Abbie

Reaction score
Oh I apologize, I was also looking to plant perennials if at all possible.

Reaction score
Without first knowing what it is you are wanting to achieve - in terms of shape, color and maintenance - as well as the kind of climate you have and how much sun or shade the area you are planning to plant in receives - it makes it very difficult to know what to suggest.

However I would just say that as you are in the planning process - it is often best to leave the planting scheme till last - as its much easier to do - once you have decided on what sort of structure you want the garden to have and whether or not the pond is to be the focal point of the garden together what shape you are thinking of and whether it will be linked to another part of the garden - as well as the type of materials you are planning to use - as that way you can then choose the right plants to enhance and compliment the pond area.

Reaction score
Thank you for the response Gata! I apologize I was in a bit of a rush to get that out there that I kind of overlooked some key things. I've uploaded a rough picture so you can see the layout of the pond/rock garden. It will be built as shown. There is a key on the image to help you identify which symbol means what. The number of flowers on the picture doesn't have to be accurate.