Fir cones as container filler

Reaction score
Country
United States
This is my first year making a vegetable container garden. I'm using large food grade containers. I read I should have 3 layers: filler, compost and then container soil. I have a lot of fir tree cones and twigs and was wondering if I could use this as filler instead of plastic bottles. Secondly should I use landscape fabric on top of the filler before adding a layer of compost and then a layer of container soil.
Thank you,
Southpaw

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I assume you need a cheap filler to put in place of garden soil that is costly that roots will never reach? I think I'd rather use pine cones and twigs as I would plastic. At least the organic sources would rotten and provide some nutrients to the soil if you turn it over. Not sure what the pH effect would be.

What kind of container?
How deep is it?
What are you going to grow in it?

Reaction score
Country
United States
They're 24x18x17 similar to large rubbermaid tub but are "food grade" plastic from a local restaurant. Plan on growing small assortment of veggies. Tomato in one, green beans, and a mix of carrots, raddish, herbs & peppers in the others. As you mentioned, I too was curious about the effect of pH.

NigelJ

Still Learning
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a lot of fir tree cones and twigs and was wondering if I could use this as filler instead of plastic bottles.
No fir cones don't hold water as well as bottles, they don't stand up on their own and you'll have the devil's own job getting the lids on.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Nigelj,
I'm thinking of putting the fir cones in the bottom of the containers instead of plastic bottles to take up extra room. Are you thinking the fir cones are plastic? They are from Douglas Fir trees that grow in my yard.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States