Treating fireblight on pear tree. Apply copper in the winter as well?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello, I have a pear tree with fireblight, and I've been told I should spray it with horticultural oil in the winter when the leaves are off. I'm in western Vermont, and we don't have too many days above 40 degrees Fahrenheit in the winter (when the manufacturer says the oil can be applied), but we are forecasted to have a 45 degree day next week, without the possibility of rain that day or the day after, so it looks like that will be a possibility. Since many growers mix in copper fungicide with the oil to kill off the blight, I'm wondering if that would be the time to do it as well. (I've no experience with fireblight). The horticultural oil apparently acts to smother the blight, though the blight IS apparently dormant in winter in a colder region like mine. Thanks in advance for your advice!

Reaction score
Country
Bulgaria
Maybe, I only spray with copper detergent. But personal experience is the best, in time you will understand what works for you.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Dormant spraying is effective for some pests and diseases, but most protocols for Fireblight (Erwinia amylovora) recommend spraying from bud break to bloom. There are more precise methods for determining when to spray, but these require constant monitoring of temperature and humidity. Copper can damage growing leaves and fruit. Copper sprays are less damaging to plants if mixed with lime (Bordeaux mixture).

Part of the reason there is so much difference of opinion about copper for Fireblight is that copper is not that effective alone. Still be ready to prune off any new infections as soon as they are observed. Sterilizing tools between cuts is prudent.

If your tree already has fireblight from the previous season, it may be too late to prune it out. Consider replanting with resistant cultivars.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States