Dumb question. What can i do with my left over pots and dirt.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
So this is my first year with a potted garden. I've had success with a few different tomato, pepper and herb plants this year. I have 2 potted blueberry plants that I'm still trying to figure out how to winterize them (but that's a different topic.)

What I'm trying to figure out is what to do with my used pots and soil and dead or soon to be dead plants. I was thinking about just cutting the plants at the base and tossing it out in the trash. I live in a duplex that provides lawn care so I don't have many options in terms of a compost pile. With the pots with soil and dead roots I was just going to stack up in the garage until spring time and let the roots decompose in them over the winter.

Is this a feezable option. I have a large established fish tank that I used to water the plants this year. I was thinking I could use the same potted soil and just give the new plants next year the nutrient rich fish tank water instead of buying new potting soil.

Does anybody have any advice or tips they have used to keep pots and soil over the winter??

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
So this is my first year with a potted garden. I've had success with a few different tomato, pepper and herb plants this year. I have 2 potted blueberry plants that I'm still trying to figure out how to winterize them (but that's a different topic.)

What I'm trying to figure out is what to do with my used pots and soil and dead or soon to be dead plants. I was thinking about just cutting the plants at the base and tossing it out in the trash. I live in a duplex that provides lawn care so I don't have many options in terms of a compost pile. With the pots with soil and dead roots I was just going to stack up in the garage until spring time and let the roots decompose in them over the winter.