Complete novice seeking general advice for growing indoors

Seb

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

I was hoping I could get some advice please. I am a complete novice and have no gardening experience.

I have decided I would like to start trying to grow some very easy indoor plants, in particular things I can use for meals such as salads etc... It will also be an interesting new little hobby that I think I would really like, but really have no clue where to start, or if it is even doable.

I live in a flat, so indoor is my only option, and have no balcony or anything like that so it really would be growing inside on a windowsill. First of all, what can I actually even realistically grow indoors? Cress is an obvious easy example, but what else? Baby Beetroot? Radish? Any kinds of tomatoes? Also, what herbs could I easily grow? Anything like Basil, Coriander etc...?

Ideally the kitchen window would be the place to do this, but it is on the opposite side to that which gets the brunt of the sun in the Summer months, that being my living room window. I have a nice long windowsill that I could fit plenty of plants on, that will get a good 8 hours of sun in the peak of Summer, but is also above the radiator I use for drying washing so I am not sure if that will make growing things impossible, or whether the extra heat is either a good thing or makes no difference.

I also want this to be quite a cheap endeavour, and see I can get very cheap plant pots and trays, as well as seeds and well reviewed indoor soil from Wilko, so don't have any interest in having to use any special lighting or anything.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Apologies if I haven't given any other obvious information, as I say I am entirely new to this.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States