Can I do anything with Asparagus already 6' tall?

Reaction score
Country
United States
I planted it years ago. It survived multiple freezes. And every spring it outruns me, growing before I can even get out to the garden. It is over 6' already. Can anything on it be eaten? Or should I just chop the whole thing off and let it grow from the ground again?

Thanks for any suggestions!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
You should have eaten those tall things when they were about 6-8 inches tall. Those tall fronds make for more root growth and more sprouts next year. But if you look closely you can probably still find some new sprouts to harvest. I would let the large fronds grow and mow them down in the fall after they go dormant.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Thank you Chuck. I'll see if I can find any short ones. Figured nothing could be done with the tall ones. Thanks!!!

Reaction score
Country
United States
Im really new to growing asparagus. Everything I see about planting & growing asparagus says to backfill as they grow. What happens if I dont?

Meadowlark

No N-P-K Required
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
old zone 8b/new zone 9a
Country
United States
Im really new to growing asparagus. Everything I see about planting & growing asparagus says to backfill as they grow. What happens if I dont?

By backfill do you mean add nutrient rich compost? If so, you will prevent the rapid loss of nutrients that results when harvesting the shoots repeatedly.

If you fail to do that, your yields will steadily drop to finally almost nothing.

Reaction score
Country
United States
By backfill do you mean add nutrient rich compost? If so, you will prevent the rapid loss of nutrients that results when harvesting the shoots repeatedly.

If you fail to do that, your yields will steadily drop to finally almost nothing.