Anyone know anything about spiders?

DrMike27

Trust me...I’m a doctor.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
I have a pair of spiders in my back yard: Sam, who lives on the awning of my back porch, and Samantha, who lives on my lemon tree. I have no idea what kind of spiders they are, but, I can definitively tell they are not brown recluse or black widow (body looks similar to a widow, but they are completely white with black stripes on the bottom). I have always been under the impression that spiders are beneficial for gardens (and Samantha has already eaten more than her weight in ‘bad’ bugs), but with having a very curious 1 year old, I wanted to see if anyone could identify these, as I have had no luck doing so. I would hate to have to destroy them, but if there is a chance they are poisonous, I cannot take the risk.
143C156A-D9CB-4B01-A6BD-20C524CF08BC.jpeg
9ABC8145-493F-460A-B7BC-35AFF22ED679.jpeg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States

I can’t really tell from the photo. The color looks right, but the markets aren’t sharp enough in the photo. Evidently, there are related to the brown recluse species in your region. The typical brown recluse to the East has the distinctive violin shaped darker marking on the thorax. “
  • Identification. The violin-shaped marking on the brown recluse is well known but can be easily mistaken on other spider species. However, the brown recluse spider's eye pattern—six eyes, arranged in three pairs in a U-shape line with a space between each pair—is a better identifier.”
I’ve known of some brown recluse bites that had bad outcomes. Diabetes played a significant part.

DrMike27

Trust me...I’m a doctor.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States