What type of trees are these, and how can I eliminate the fungal growth?

Reaction score
Country
United States
I recently bought a home, and these trees are on the property.
They look like citrus trees of some type, and they also look as though they haven't been tended to in quite awhile,
based on the fungal growth and lack of leaves. I have limited knowledge of gardening, just a few indoor plants, sweet basil, lime basil, green onion, and rosemary. I've seen a lot of information about how to prevent fungal growth, but not eliminate it once it takes hold. Honestly I'm not sure two of these trees are even alive. Any help on identification and treatment is very much appreciated.

Attachments

• CITRUSTREE3.jpg
    CITRUSTREE3.jpg
    299.2 KB · Views: 22
  • CITRUSTREE2.jpg
    CITRUSTREE2.jpg
    583.9 KB · Views: 19
  • CITRUSTREE1.jpg
    CITRUSTREE1.jpg
    458.7 KB · Views: 21
Reaction score
Country
United States
The trees do appear to be Citrus and they are also very unhealthy. It may be too late to stop their decline.
From photographs it is diffuicult to determine the reason for the trees' ill health. Perhaps soil conditions involving drainage or pH.

However, the silvery growths on the branches are not the cause of the trees' distress. These are only epiphytes using the trees branches for support. They are not in anyway parasitic to the tree. Some of the growth is various species of Tillandsia, flowering
plants in the Pineapple Family (Bromeliaceae). Spanish-moss (Tillandsia usneoides) is on such species. Some fo the growth may also be lichens, which are commensal associations of fungi and algae. These also are attractive and harmless additions on the tree bark.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States