Tomato and potato hacks

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I wanted to share my tomato and potato hacks, (which were passed on to me), and ask if anyone else has any experience o them. I've been planting up my tomato side shoots for a few years, with great success. Once they are a few inches long I pinch them out and put them in water for a couple of weeks until they have a good root system, then just plant them up. I recently began doing this with potatoes. After chitting them I carefully remove a couple of shoots and plant them up. They develop leaves within a couple of days and grow well. I had a good crop last year and intend to do more this year. Does anybody else have experiences of this?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Greetings, welcome to the Forums.

I have heard of propagating tomatoes (Solanum lycopersicum) by cutting. Are these tomatoes that you overwinter in a greenhouse?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Greetings, welcome to the Forums.

I have heard of propagating tomatoes (Solanum lycopersicum) by cutting. Are these tomatoes that you overwinter in a greenhouse?
No just seedlings I grow in spring. When the sideshoits are big enough I pinch them out as normal. Once in water they grow a lot of roots within couple of weeks

Meadowlark

No N-P-K Required
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
old zone 8b/new zone 9a
Country
United States
Yes, side shoots on tomatoes are relatively easy to "plant up". I extend my growing season by throwing dirt on the side shoots and using them for fall tomatoes. Works for me.

I'm not sure I understand your potato "hack". Are you planting eyes without any supporting cut potato? Also, I've found chitting to be a waste of time in my climate. The far more important thing is to plant at just the time that enables the new shoots to grow above ground without freeze/frost damage which can significantly reduce production. That date for my region has been Valentine's Day for many many years.