Suggestions For Installing New Greenhouse?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello everyone. I’m new to growing food and I’m interested in installing a greenhouse. I do get a lot of wind especially in the evenings, and I’m unsure as to how to anchor down my greenhouse. I was thinking of using rebar stakes to hold down the frame. The other question is the location and position, I live in St George, Utah (desert) and my back yard faces East, I’m thinking of placing it in the south of my property, and situated due East and west. Lots of natural light during the day, but maybe too much in the summers when it gets 113 degrees? Any suggestions would be appreciated!

Thank you and thanks for having me here!

Attachments

• 21FDCA96-96D1-4A7C-8C9E-8C40B896B65A.jpeg
    21FDCA96-96D1-4A7C-8C9E-8C40B896B65A.jpeg
    348.5 KB · Views: 11
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Keir Hardy
Country
United Kingdom
Hi and welcome.

I'd position it close to a fence for a bit of protection.

I'd lay some large what we would call Corporation pavingstones, to form a base, tamping them down with a length of 3" X 2" and a lump hammer, then place a spirit level on the timber and check in all directions to make sure it's level. Also that they are higher than the ground around them.
Then screw the base to the paving stones.

You can paint on greenhouse shading for the hottest months.

You can over complicate putting up a greenhouse.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi and welcome.

I'd position it close to a fence for a bit of protection.

I'd lay some large what we would call Corporation pavingstones, to form a base, tamping them down with a length of 3" X 2" and a lump hammer, then place a spirit level on the timber and check in all directions to make sure it's level. Also that they are higher than the ground around them.
Then screw the base to the paving stones.

You can paint on greenhouse shading for the hottest months.

You can over complicate putting up a greenhouse.