Some basic questions.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
So im still very new to this gardening thing and i just wanted to ask a few basic questions.

1. Is there a difference between pruning and trimming? Does one promote growth and the other not?

2. Should you always trim away suckers? Is there a difference between a sucker and a new branch?

3. Other than plant specific requirements, are there any major differences in weekly care between ornamental flowers such as roses and veggies/herbs?

4. Can you end up being a helicopter gardener the same way you end up being a helicopter parent? Should i be poking and prodding my plants daily? (I just had my first child and to stop myself from googling every single cough and sneeze wondering if its sids or what ever other horrible thing that can accidentally happen to my kid i have taken up gardening in the hopes i can spend more brain power on something useful for my family in the future)

I have a dozen or so pots of veggies and herbs in the back yard and to get the girlfriend involved i got her a bunch of flowers and a nice rose bush for the front yard. I have promised to keep the herbs and veggies alive in the back yard if she can keep the flowers alive in the front. (Secertly i am trying to keep the flowers alive too)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
4 to 5 best for success.
Country
United States
I can answer your number 2 question. Suckers are straight twigs that grow up from the base of the shrub, and yes they should be cut off. They also are different within the shrub as they are straight up, I like to say, reaching for heaven. You can note them at at odd angle upward from the natural curve of the shrub, and some smaller trees such as a Japanese Maple or an Almond tree. And yes you need to cut them away, a once a year walk around is good enough for the task.