Skeletal hedge repair advice

Pef

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, first post on here so hello everyone.

Just need to say I know nothing about gardening, I tend to put things in the ground and see what happens so please treat me as a complete novice!

I moved into a house that had a massive unruly hedge out front that was so out of control that people were struggling to walk past on the pavement so I had to cut it back. The problem was that all of the foliage was on the end of the branches so it now looks like a load of dead branches and a very skeletal appearance.

Its smallish dark green leaves with red berries (Cotoneaster maybe) and I thought that maybe the leaves would start growing back but apart from a few coming from low down from the inside the branches remain ugly and skeletal.

So what can I do to repair/help it along? Is there anything?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
Use an all-purpose fertilizer (synthetic is faster than organic) according to the directions and give it some time. You could also use a lawn food with higher Nitrogen (the first number on the package), also per instructions for square meter. Plants can’t read so the numbers are more important than the name on the label.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United States
Pef, I'd cut the whole thing back to about 12" height and let it renew itself. When new growth starts to appear, give the hedge about a half-dose of fertilizer and keep it pruned to stay off the pathway.
When pruning a hedge, make it a pyramid shape, not a top-heavy shape. Letting sun and air into the center of the hedge will keep the growth consistent and not result in "branches remain ugly and skeletal". Hedges that are top sheared and side sheared result in what you have now.

Pef

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom