Rose Of Sharon. help please

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
My Rose of Sharon is in it's second year and started the season great however last week when I went to water I found the tops of all the branches covered looking a Smokey Gray/black covered with what I think is aphids. I used a spray and it seemed to be getting better but now it is covered again. Someone told me to cut off all the tips that are infected (would be most of them) I am just learning and not sure what I should do. Any and all advice welcome.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
My Rose of Sharon is in it's second year and started the season great however last week when I went to water I found the tops of all the branches covered looking a Smokey Gray/black covered with what I think is aphids. I used a spray and it seemed to be getting better but now it is covered again. Someone told me to cut off all the tips that are infected (would be most of them) I am just learning and not sure what I should do. Any and all advice welcome.
Send pics

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Ditto pictures.
Also is it an indoor or outdoor plant and where do you live?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
Are you sure it's a rose of Sharon? Never heard of aphids attacking a woody plant like a RoS. Maybe you have some type of tropical Hibiscus?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
1462749006173.jpg
1462748907580.jpg
1462748907580.jpg
1462749006173.jpg
I live in southwest idaho. I was told and the picture tag said it was a rose of Sharon. Last year I got a few beautiful purple flowers. It is an outside plant.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
View attachment 12648 View attachment 12647 View attachment 12647 View attachment 12648 I live in southwest idaho. I was told and the picture tag said it was a rose of Sharon. Last year I got a few beautiful purple flowers. It is an outside plant.