Preparing my small garden for winter.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi! I am really new to gardening so I have lots of questions about how to approach this winter. I only have a small garden, some pots and two small raised beds. I wanted to ensure my soil can improve during the winter, as I don’t have anything I want to plant at the moment. Today I shredded all my own dead plants into the raised beds and buried it under, with coffee grounds and egg shells. I’m not sure if covering this with tarp is a good idea? I’m also not sure what else I can do to help my soil, as there doesn’t seem to be any worms or other insects digging around. The lowest temperature it’ll get in the garden is around -5. Is there any advice on what I can do to improve my soil and garden for next spring? Thank you!!

Meadowlark

No N-P-K Required
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
old zone 8b/new zone 9a
Country
United States
You have "done good" by adding organic matter to your soil. If you have access to compost you could do "more good" by covering the beds with a few inches of it. "Really good" would be planting a legume cover crop and turning that under next spring...although it is probably too late for that in your area.

Regarding adding lime, proceed with caution. It is important to know the PH of your soil currently if you are changing it...and lime will change the PH, raising it.

As the referenced article states:

Most plants fall into either of two categories:

• Those that prefer soil that is neutral to slightly acid
  • Those that prefer soil that is neutral to slightly alkaline
Lime will raise the PH of your soil. If that is what you need, then go for it, but slowly. If not, then don't use lime.