Little white bugs eating plant roots. How do I get ride of them?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Are they vine weevil? They've killed two of my heuchera plants and a lemon cypress. I was able to lift the top of the dead plants straight from the soil by a single leaf because there were no roots attached and there were these tiny little white larvae attached to them.

How do I get rid of them? Should I replace the compost in the two pots? Is there a way to get rid of vine weevil and the larvae without using harmful insecticides?

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United Kingdom
Basically no. You can buy nematodes worms which eat the vine weevil grubs, but they only work when the soil is warm enough for them and they die once there are no more weevils to eat.
Sadly even the chemical route is not that effective either the most common one used kills bees which is not a good thing.
Very sorry, I have been fighting them for 40 years now.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
This has been an increasing problem since suscon green was banned several years ago. I have found that the best thing to do is NOT plant anything that is of particular interest to vine weevils. I'm afraid that heuchera is at the top of the list for the perishing things. I don't even consider growing them here any more. :(

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
This has been an increasing problem since suscon green was banned several years ago. I have found that the best thing to do is NOT plant anything that is of particular interest to vine weevils. I'm afraid that heuchera is at the top of the list for the perishing things. I don't even consider growing them here any more. :(
That's so disappointing! I love the look of heucheras and planned on buying more this year before I saw those awful little grubs! I'll be ditching the compost in the affected planters and replacing it soon.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom