Help with starting flowers indoors

Reaction score
Country
United States
I am new to the forum and this is the first time I attempted starting my flowers indoors. I bought several "Jiffy Greenhouses" to get a start on the spring/summer here in TN. Everything went well initially, but now, many of my seedlings are growing long and slender as the best I can describe it. Think of when you normally see the initial leaves on a new sprout but with very long stalks. I am growing several varieties, too many to list at the moment, and almost all of them seem to be doing this. I've been careful to keep them out of direct sunlight and have kept them moist. I am not a professional and adding lighting is out of the question given the room I have available.

I'm not sure why they're coming up that way or what I can do to correct them, or if it's too late and just need to start over while it's still early. Many of them seem to have grown to a certain size and then stopped, some of which look like they're starting to thin. I'm not sure what other information to give at the moment but this is generally what's going on with most of the seeds I've started. Any help or advice is appreciated.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
Welcome to the forum! When they get long and thin it usually means they are searching for light. You can get growing lamps fairly cheaply, would that be an option?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
Becky is correct, they need more light! I hang a simple shoplight fixture with normal fluorescent bulbs over my seedlings. If you get extra light over your plants soon, they should be able recover. Go ahead and leave the light on them 24/7. It won't hurt and will give the plants the extra light they need to catch up on what they have missed.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Subline440